The BOARDWORLD Forums ran from 2009 to 2021 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive

another snowboard size question…

Hello,

I am just starting to get into boarding. I have only boared once before which was last year at Falls Creek in VIC. I hired gear as I was only there for a couple of days but I am going to Queenstown NZ for a week in August and wanted to by some gear.

I was a bit impatient and purchased a board before doing good research… or measuring a board next to me hmmm
I spoke to one guy in a local shop in Melbourne and he recommended a 158cm wide board. I ended up getting a Burton Bullet 157 seen here: LINK

Now the problem is I think it might be too short. I’m about 185cm and 90-95kg (But am working on losing some weight). The board only comes up to my neck, between my collar bone and my adams apple. From the Burton website I really should have gone the 164cm for my weight.

As I’m only a beginner I’ll mostly be on groomed runs and playing around in amongst some trees/small jumps with some mates.
I’m not really interested in speed or big jumps (plus need to be able to ride properly first).

So will this board suit me as I might be able to throw it around a bit easier? Or should I really look at getting a bigger board?

Hey Bronsay, welcome to the Boardworld Community! smile

What sized boots do you wear? Where do you plan on riding mainly? Australia, overseas, or both?

Firstly, don’t worry too much about where the board comes up to in regards to your height. The most important factor is your weight; the board has no idea how tall you are, just how much force you exert, which is determined by your weight.