The BOARDWORLD Forums ran from 2009 to 2021 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive

Help with skateboards and starting out :)

Hi Guys,
Pretty new to the forum so hopefully I post this in the right spot. So I am pretty new to skating and I’ve done it a couple of time. (Not very good but meh I’m having fun)
I was looking to buying a board, should I get it custom made? If so what should I be looking for?
Complete deck? (Where should I go and get one! raspberry I’m in Melbourne)
Or buy an old one of a local skateboarder (Any Melbournians out there want to sell me there old board?)

Thanks Guys!

P.S I’m the biggest n00b on 4 wheels ever raspberry Not into longboarding.

You can get an Alien Workshop complete for less than $100 from Ballistyx. Pretty good to start with imo.
http://www.ballistyx.com.au/index.php?pageID=10627&action=productcatalogue&prodcat_id=1796&sectionID=10457

Completes are good value and there are some decent ones out there, but they usually don’t use the best parts (trucks, wheels, bearings etc). Just make sure you know what parts you’re getting. If you want something a bit better, I’d suggest putting together your own deck, as in buying the individual parts you want and getting the store to set it up for you.

24 Skateboards have a great deal going on. http://www.24skateboards.com/

Deck, grip, wheels, and ceramic bearings for $125. Or deck with grip for $45. Their decks also have a 12 month ‘break it, replace it’ warranty, which I’ve never seen anyone offer before. I believe they also do free shipping.

Welcome boardergirl!
I think getting a complete set up is a good option. But also, 24 skateboards are awesome, and their deals are hard to pass. Just means you would have to buy trucks as well.