The BOARDWORLD Forums ran from 2009 to 2021 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive

new snowboarder… I need help

hey guys,

Im new to snowboarding and I only started last season. I bought a setup without knowing a lot about the sport. I had some advice from people I know but Im not too sure if they know what they are doing either. I have a Banana Magic board with cartel bindings and i bought the Nike Kaiju boots. So far its been nothing but comfortable and I like what I have.

Last season I learned how to do toe and heel side turns and linking them. An instructor at Mountain Creek in NJ taught me to point towards the direction and let my shoulder guide my hips and that made the board turned. So this year I can do wide turns using my shoulder and no problems with linking turns.

Here’s the problem now…. I want to do the fast carves that I see people do at the parks. Im kinda doing it but I feel like Im wiperblading instead of shifting my weight and let my lower body do the work. I might have the wrong idea in my head so please help… I want to get this done and maybe move to learning swith for next year. BTW since last season I have only gone about 15 days combined last season and this season.

thanks for any advice….

JT

Go to http://www.snowboardaddiction.com buy theuir dvd’s, use the boardworld discount to get some $$$ off

watch these again, and again then put what you have learnt into practise.

I am a decent rider (if i do say so myself) but i found these vids had so much useful information for my everyday riding (i originally bought them just for the park instructionals)

Hi Xplicitz

If you have any video of you riding, we could really help you by seeing exactly how you’re riding. But we should be help anyway.

When you say you feel like your wiperblading, I think I know what you mean. Your arms and shoulder fling one way to make your board go the other way? Or your upperbody stays still and your lower body and board “wiperblade” back and forth?