The BOARDWORLD Forums ran from 2009 to 2021 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive

what stance do you ride

since i just purchased my new board(thanks to rider), i was wondering what stance do you guys used and do you prefer duck stance of forward stance and what would you recommend for a beginner.

Stance is such a personal thing and it really depends on your intentions and also the snow conditions.

For an absolute beginner I would suggest a narrower stance, with zero degrees on the back foot. Why? Because the ultimate goal is to get them turning. A narrower stance makes it easier to pivot, and the directional angles make it easier to turn by opening their hips to the direction of travel.

As you improve, you will probably want to start riding switch and learning tricks. Here is becomes more important to widen the stance, for stability and pressability (I’m going to pretend that’s a real word, hehe).  It also becomes important to turn your back binding outwards AKA ‘duck stance’, to open your hips to travel in both directions.

Personally, I find duck stance to be by far the most comfortable and versatile stance - but each person is different. I like riding a lot of switch so it’s important to me.

My preferred stance is 15 / -15, 22 to 23 inches wide (depending on the board), and centred.

thanks rider

been reading this http://wildyago.kr/422 , is it true that duck stance give you more knee problems i mean he is speaking in article in good way and bad way for duck stance and they recommend forward stance in many articles i have read at least for beginners.

also this is stupid question but may as well ask, in ur article https://www.boardworld.com.au/snowboarding/content/category/stance-and-snowboard-setup/ when you talk about centred what exactly does that mean ?