The BOARDWORLD Forums ran from 2009 to 2021 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive

Newbie board advice… Now confused!?

So I hit up Melbourne snowboard centre yesterday, explained I’m a newbie and looking for a board. I mentioned the skate banana and park pickle, I bad previously been advised these would be good to get however yesterday I was told otherwise. I was told. I would not be able to “learn” how to ride on these boards…. He mentioned a dc pbj instead…. Your thoughts?

was the DC more expensive?

PBJ is roughly $150 cheaper than the GNU & Libtech boards.

I’m pretty much a newb myself, so I can’t give you a whole lot of advice on board selection, but I can tell you that the guys at MSC are very helpful, and will always give you the right advice. They’re a top bunch of guys there, especially Mick.

My limited understanding is that rocker boards tend to be a little more maneuverable, great for powder and park, but can be more unstable at speed, and don’t hold an edga as well.

MSC is my local.

Is the PBJ a camber board? Thus the recommendation instead of the skate banana.

Just looking online, the PBJ is a camber board. My guess is that’s why he was steering pazza towards it.

Not that it makes any difference, but the PBJ has a fluro base too. Love the glow that comes off a fluro base on a sunny day.  grin

Yeah, Mick and his crew at MSBC are a pretty top bunch.
I agree with them in saying that I think the Skate Banana and Park Pickle are more advanced boards, and I personally wouldn’t recommend either for a beginner boarder.

The main reason behind this is that both Skateynana & Park Pickle are rocker boards with lots of flex in them.
For more information on Rocker vs. Camber, read https://www.boardworld.com.au/snowboarding/content/category/snowboard-characteristics/

Rocker makes the board more manouverable, allowing for greater/easier rotations - good for doing tricks like butters & riding rails.