The BOARDWORLD Forums ran from 2009 to 2021 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive

What’s the best board and camber ????

Hey guys and girls.

I have been reading articles and looked at boards in shops as I am in the process of buying a new one and lets say I am confused what to get even after reading Jeremys camber explanation.

I have been riding boards for about 20 years and well i haven’t bought a new one for about 20 years. All my old boards were traditional camber and mainly directional.

Now I am looking at getting a new board as I booked a trip to Myoko japan. which is deep powder. Well it would be easy just get a S- Rocker for Powder but I also want to use the board afterwards in OZ where the powder is not so often seen.

One shop recommended Powder Camber and another one today recommended banana / hybrid rocker.

The board i have looked at are Burton landlord, Baracuda and Flight Attendant.

The one recommended today was a Lib tech Sk8 banana with a hybrid camber.

From my riding, i love freeriding backcountry if i get the chance and otherwise i carve doen the slopes. Some tricks but no rails or crazy stuff like 540 etc. (360 max). I must say the Hybrid canber looks weird for me and i can’t see how it could hold powerfull turns.

Let me know what you guys think and what your experience is.

Any feedback would be great.

Thanks

Tom

From your info given, I’d be lookin for a RCR Profile!!!!!

Welcome to Boardworld, Tom! cool smile

From what you’re telling, I would agree that full camber or RCR (CamRock) would suit you best. I’m hearing words like “freeriding”, “carving”, “powerful turns”—you need camber between your feet.