The BOARDWORLD Forums ran from 2009 to 2021 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive

Not progressing

I don’t know if I’m just not seeing a difference in my skating but I feel I have stalled and am not making any progress. I’m very comfortable just riding and I can ollie easily but everything feels sketchy. I think it might be that I don’t know what to learn next. I rather transition but even there I have trouble with even axle stalls and pumping but can boneless pretty high off a 4 foot quarter. Help would be very much appreciated.

We all hit plateaus in our riding sometimes. I’m a snowboard instructor but I skate too (not that good on a skateboard though).

I like transition too. And I think I learnt lip trick after lip trick until I couldn’t go any further. I realized that my tranny skating had become way better than my other skating (flat ground, rails etc). And I couldn’t get any better until I filled in the gaps in my skating. It might be the same for you?

If there’s an indoor park near u, ask them if they have a skate coach that can show u what to work on.

If not, Braille Skateboarding r really good online lessons. And they have a pathway if tricks to learn in order which I think would help you.

Also, have u checked out the BW skate trick tips?

Skateboarding is a cruel mistress, you can easily hit a moment of no progress. Don’t stress over it, sometimes you just need to go out and roll around enjoying the streets, olling up and down things. Craving around a park also helps give you more board feel. The most important thing is not to get annoyed with yourself for not progressing (easier said than done especially if you want to progress).