The BOARDWORLD Forums ran from 2009 to 2021 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive

Looking for a new board

So i demoed a Yes Basic last weekend and absolutely loved it. I currently own a Gnu Park Pickle and a Ride Machete, it felt just as stable as the machete at speed and almost as playful as the pickle. It just felt so good to ride, i still cant believe how much fun i had on it and how stable it felt.

My question is, i demoed the 156W, i am wondering about the 159W, i am 6’5” and 75kg. My machete is 157 and the pickle is 159, i felt as if the basic was a little easier to throw around than the pickle due to the shorter size? how would the 156 go in POW considering my height?Just to give you an idea of how i ride. I ride park; boxes, rails, and the biggest jump i’ve done is 30ft, i am still learning and not very good. I also spend a lot of time jibbing as my wife has only done 30 days on snow so far and i spend time with her. When i am not with her i do bomb runs and do fast carves, but most the time just do side hits and have fun. If i do get the basic i also plan to take it on my late spring backcountry missions.

Just stuck on the size, hit me with theories…....

Stoked to hear you got the opportunity to demo the Basic!

I would suggest the 156W. Height makes zero difference in pow. You only weigh 75kg and that’s all the board knows. Did the 156W feel stable at speed and hold an edge how you want it to? If so, I don’t see any reason to step up to the 159W.

You’ve already got more surface area (translation: float) due to the extra width of the wide version. Add the rockered nose and tail and I think you’ll float just fine with the 156W, especially in Australian pow.

Just a thought: