The BOARDWORLD Forums ran from 2009 to 2021 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive

Looking for a new board

Hi guys I’m looking to get a new board I’m pretty new to the sport so I’m currently riding a Burton Clash 151 as it is a beginner to intermediate board, I’ve had it for a couple of seasons now and I’ve booked a trip to Japan for later in the year. The Clash has done me wonders for picking up the skills and absolutely love the board, I just want to upgrade because well I can, and snowboards are cool haha! Don’t like going fast lol, I would like a board that will let me do butters, little jumps, switch 180’s and eventually take it to the park and do some rails with ease smile . Going to Japan also so may need one with pow capabilities too? I weigh 75kgs and about 5"7-5"8. Your recommendations please good people? smile

Hey mate,

The Clash is really good entry-level board, so I understand your positive experience with it. But there’s always a time to move on… wink

Based on what you said, you’re looking for versatility. I say “versatility” a lot but it’s really important to have a board that can handle everything from waist deep pow in Japan, to park laps in Australia — if that’s what you want.

You definitely want some rocker in the board for Japan (it really does just make the board float so much better). My suggestion would be a hybrid profile… and a board like the YES Typo would be a great board to handle the next stage of your progression. It’s a versatile board, great value price-wise, it’s going to float well in Japan, and it kills it on groomers/park too. Rocker in the nose and tail makes it perfect to butter, press, and learn new tricks on — and it gives you float in powder. While camber between the feet give you stability, edging performance, and pop. It also has UnderBite edges for a bit of extra grip on ice.