The BOARDWORLD Forums ran from 2009 to 2021 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive

Board Advice

Hi guys newbie to the site and just looking in some advice for a new board. I have been riding a forum Youngblood 156 for the last 5 years and am looking for something new. I am currently tossing up between the Rome agent rocker and the Yes the greats. I like to mainly free ride around the mountain will hit jumps and bumps. I don’t go out of my way to hit the park but if the is a box on my travels I will usually hit it. Any advice from anyone would be awesome or recommendations for other board that are similar would be much appreciated.

First up, what’s your weight, height, boot size and binding angles?

With all this, we should be able to find some good options to help you progress smile

I am 182cm 90kg size 10 boots and med sized bindings. I have never properly had a board set up for me but usually ride a bit duckish and have both bindings set at 15 degrees turned out. My Youngblood is a 156cm but I am thinking at getting a 158cm in either of the boards I have mentioned.

Cool, yeah you definitely don’t need a wide board. And a 158 for all mountain riding is a good idea.

Those 2 boards you mentioned are different styles though. The Rome Agent Rocker is full rocker where as the Yes board is Cam Rock. Personally I prefer the Cam Rock because it has all the perks of a rocker board in pow etc but still has decent pop.

Some other options similar to these would be:
Burton Custom Flying V (If you have no objective to buying Burton or having to get ICS bindings)
Capita TFA
GNU Carbon Credit / Lib Tech Attack Banana
K2 Turbo Dream
Ride Machete
Solomon Villian

Though as always, if you can get to a demo day and give a few boards a go, you’ll find something awesome. If not, any of the above are similar to your style of riding and would all probably be a good choice.