The BOARDWORLD Forums ran from 2009 to 2021 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive

lower back injury

hey guys -
I been skiing for the past 10 years - probably average 10 days of skiing a year (skiing not snowboarding)
Im self taught so technically theres probably alot of room for improvement
The problem i encounter is lower back soreness and sore knees while im skiing . . (obviously im not the only one in this situation)
Can someone offer some advice to reduce the soreness while skiing . . . besides stretching before hand etc is there more of a fundermental thing i can do to take the stress of my lower back and knees while im actually skiing ??

The problem you are getting in your lower back and knees is probably due to the fact that when you ski you lean back a bit too much and hunch over with your shoulders, which puts a lot of stress on those body parts.

When you are skiing try to keep for upper body up higher and not hunched or leaned back. Try to feel the front of your boots touching the front of your shins make sure that you have a straight line that goes from your feet to your hips and up to your shoulders. Always keep your knees bent!

Some strengthening exercises you can do for your lower back are to lie face down on a bench that is about 2 feet off the ground, putting only your legs and the end of your hips on the bench. Having someone sit on your legs makes this easier. Try and hold you upper body off the ground and elevated to about 90 degrees, so it’s as if you were lying on the ground. Try only holding it for about 30 seconds and if that’s too easy slowly increase the amount of time by about 15 seconds each time. Another one you can try is the superman exercise. This one is done lying flat on the ground face down and just raise your legs and upper body at the same time and hold it for 3 seconds, release and bring your body to the ground and go right back up again for 3 seconds. Do this as many times as you can.