The BOARDWORLD Forums ran from 2009 to 2021 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive

Snowboarding and Ballet

Hi Becky,

I’d like to start a discussion on the fitness levels and skills/techniques required for snowboarding.

I studied classical ballet for over 15 years and never really wanted to give any other sports a go, however my boyfriend really wanted me to try snowboarding so thought I would take the chance! I was a little bit scared because I thought I’d be really uncoordinated and that I wouldn’t be able to pick it up, but I found I picked up the basics quite easily as I’ve been trained to control my muscles and centre of gravity and could apply these techniques to snowboarding. I also found that years of flexibility training really helped when using those legs and stomach muscles !

Maybe if we could discuss the similarities in technique and fitness required for both snowboarding and other sports, a few more people might be encouraged to get out there !

Thanks,
Lys.

From what I have seen of ballet there is a lot of lower body and core strength involved. Also being able to balance on your toes uses incredible balance and strength. The similarities are there and I would see the main benefits translating to correct stance and good balance.

Hi Lys,

Lots of sports go ‘hand in hand’. And I’m never surprised by the strangest of relationships between sports. For example, many runners are made to swim alot (and vise versa) - both need cardiovascular fitness and strength. Training in one aids the other sport.

Snowboarding and ballet would be no different. As cabseven mentioned- the main crossover would lie in good balance, core stability and flexibility from many years of classical ballet. Boarding needs all of the these!

I was also plesantly surprised my first time snowboarding. I play competitive soccer- translating into good fitness, agility, and lower limb power (unfortunately not so much flexibility!)