The BOARDWORLD Forums ran from 2009 to 2021 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive

The Science/ Engineering of snowboarding.

Ok so quick introduction, I am a first year engineering student and I’ve been on the Forums for a few months now. I’ve been thinking it would be cool to explain how and why some aspects of snowboarding are the way they are, sort of how Destin from smarter everyday explains things about many many topics.

So basically I’m starting this thread as a place to explain mostly the physics aspects of snowboarding as best as I can, feel free to ask your own questions along the way.

I am most likely going to start on why wax is important, and then lead on to related things such as: how the snow conditions actually affect the speed of the board, also explaining some of the technologies involved in snowboards like carbon reinforcements in the core etc…

Feel free to add anything if I miss things, post video’s that you find and whatever else, let’s see where this takes us, I’m just going to post things as they come, and will visit the forums at least on a daily basis so there will (hopefully) often be updates to the thread.

Why is wax important?
We all know it makes you ride faster, but how does it manage this feat?

Ok, picture this, you are cruising along with some mates when “Jono” decides to start an impromptu race down to the bottom, last one down has to buy the first round of drinks at the bar that night. obviously this situation may or may not be a likely one for many of you, you may not even have a friend called Jono. But the key point is while it is too late at that point to prepare your board for the race, I bet you are wishing you had. We all know that a well waxed board is going to be faster than a board with worn/no wax (assuming they both have the same kind of base, I will probably get into this later).