The BOARDWORLD Forums ran from 2009 to 2021 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive

Buying a new Surfboard

I’m just learning how to surf and I’m looking at getting a board.. Should I stick with something longer or maybe go a little shorter?

I am 5’5 weighing about 62kg

My ability is beginner, I can stand up on a long board and most of the time I can ride out on a small wave

yes

thanks for that amazingly detailed response, haha

In surfing longer is always better for the beginner isnt it?

Depends how good you are planning at getting- just like snowboards, surfboards are expensive.  When I was learning to surf I had tree choices- minimal (big and round but not as big as a mal), fish (shorter and very buoyant) or a bit larger than your hight buoyant fun board- I went the funboard because they are the same shape as a shortboard (like the pros ride) but buoyant enough to learn on. If you plann on sticking with the sport get something that will float you but you can still duckdive, the learning will take longer, but once you can do it there is more fun to be had without buying a second board.  Once you are good enough to ride a shortie then your beginner board can serve you for small swell days, and still be fun (wont turn like a door)

If you can balance its not so much the length of the board, but how much it floats you.

hope that helps

Thanks for that guys that does help a lot and you both made very valid comments. I think it’s going to take me a little while to be able to maneuver a board through a wave.. but I still want something that can duck dive as I find this the easiest way rather than doing the roll over like a turtle thing. The fish/funboard seems like a good choice.

What`s duck dive?..Is that when you are paddling on the way OUT and trying to get under the incoming waves?

I`ve never surfed but I`d love to…Not many waves in Alberta though