The BOARDWORLD Forums ran from 2009 to 2021 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive

tips on maintaining physical fitness during a season.

I have been boarding for about 2 weeks straight now and I’m really starting to feel it.

Aside from bruises, a corked muscle and a little bit of whiplash my body is feeling quite stiff.

Do you have any tips on maintaining fitness? Any particular stretches that would work well, when to stretch? I’ve never done a season before so I’m CLUELESS!

I’ve not done a season but general fitness/recovery methods should apply.

*Stretching is important before and after strenuous activity. Just don’t overdo static stretches before actually warming up. At a minimum you should probably be stretching your calves/hamstrings/glutes/quads. Probably doesn’t hurt to keep your neck limbered up in case of a fall.
*Make sure you are eating enough and try to make it healthy food as your body needs fuel for recovery.
*Drink plenty of water
*Get plenty of sleep
*Heat and/or Ice injuries
*Compression garments may/may not help
*Swimming is also a good for low impact recovery/fitness

One tip that I found helped during the seasons I did (and it is much easy when you are living on snow), is to get up a bit earlier, have a really hot shower or even a bath if your super keen….then do half an hour of stretching. It makes a big difference over a whole season. Also there used to be a guy at Perisher that you could ring and he would bring his massage table to your hotel room and give you a remedial massage as well. It wasn’t too pricey either and could be worth doing once or twice!

Also….don’t be shy to do a few half days or even take a rest day! your doing a season, you don’t have to feel like you must do every day!