The BOARDWORLD Forums ran from 2009 to 2021 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive

JAPAN where to go?

Sup guys n gals. New member here. Myself and 2 mates are planning a trip to Japan and am looking for advice.

I am a beginner snowboarder, only been once to perisher (5yrs ago!), have 7 days in NZ booked this season so should get some practice in. Both my mates have done full seasons in Canada.

We are looking at going late December for around 3weeks. 2 weeks will be boarding hopefully and 1 week split between looking around Tokyo and 1 other city? Would like to see kyoto but its probably too much out of the way. any recommendations?

Last question is where should we go Hakuba? Niseko? Nozowa Onsen? We were looking at Hakuba but heard pow is better in Niseko so now not sure.

BTW we are all 25yrs so nightlife is a bonus. Is xmas time to early to go?

We will most likely be staying budget accom to keep the trip cheaper/longer.

Cheers! Thanks for any input.

December is very early in the season (especially Early/Mid December if you are planning 2-3 weeks) so you are going to need some luck with early falls.

Hokkaido got off to a fairly big/early start 2011/12. Honshu resorts were a little slower to kick off.

Having said that with snow it’s unpredictable. There were times in the season where Hakuba was getting smashed and Niseko was getting nothing and vice versa.

If possible delay the holiday until mid Jan/Early Feb. If that’s not possible do your week in Tokyo at the start of the trip and the snow after.

As for your other questions have a read through the numerous Japan planning threads and trip reports on this forum there’s a tonne of information in them.

Yeah, I agree with drc!!!!!

I remember scopin the cams in Niseko before we went in Feb 2009, and mid December there was still grass visible mid mountain!!!!!