The BOARDWORLD Forums ran from 2009 to 2021 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive

Frostbite Edges with Grip N Rip Tune V Magne-Traction

As the title suggests… What is your opinion and views on the above 2 systems.

I ask because I am new to the snowboard world and looking at buying my first board. I have read really good things about the Megne-traction and havent really heard much at all about the Frostbite Edges.

Frostbite Edges are somewhat the same as Magne-traction - it’s just not as noticeable. Burton have been doing it for years too; it was previously called ‘Pressure Distribution Edges’ and featured on the Custom X.

Magne-traction visually looks like a serrated edge and it performs its function very well. It gives you increased edge hold in icy conditions. Frostbite does the same however you won’t feel it as much. The theory behind it is the same though.

so being a newbie one would suggest this would be a good thing to include on a first board?

You would’ve already read the claims, that they turn ice into powder!!!!!

This is not entirely true, as I have found from my own experience!!!!! My mathematical equation - POW > Magnetraction + Ice!!!!!

It may give you a sense of having extra grip on the ice, and therefore make you feel more confident when ya ride it!!!!!

Having said this, I don’t see it as a negative thing to have on ya board, but I wouldn’t base my choice of purchase solely on havin these features!!!!!

Hope this helps ya pazza????

agree with what mizu said

good to have but would not seek it/pay extra on purpose for it

ice skating on board with magnetraction or not is still ice skating

I agree with Mizu and humdingaling. It gives you more grip on ice but there’s more important factors to consider. I wouldn’t make a decision on which board to buy based on Frostbite vs Magne-traction.

Okay so I’ve been wondering this for a while cause I’ve never used a board with Frost Bite edges… What r they?