The BOARDWORLD Forums ran from 2009 to 2021 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive

VIC water temps right now

Hey guys, heading down to Torquay from Canberra for 4 days on Sunday. I only have a 2/3mm steamer and im super skinny so feel the cold. Should i be bringing my booties and hood? Also, i’m a pretty novice surfer. I noticed the swell is around 4ft coming from the south on Sunday, any tips on places where it is a bit mellower and good for beginners? I’m riding green waves fine but only the mellower stuff.

Thanks heaps, Jake

Jake - 12 November 2015 06:25 PM

Hey guys, heading down to Torquay from Canberra for 4 days on Sunday. I only have a 2/3mm steamer and im super skinny so feel the cold. Should i be bringing my booties and hood? Also, i’m a pretty novice surfer. I noticed the swell is around 4ft coming from the south on Sunday, any tips on places where it is a bit mellower and good for beginners? I’m riding green waves fine but only the mellower stuff.

Thanks heaps, Jake

Hi Jake.

Some good questions there, ill try to answer as best I can.

I’ve never surfed Vic waters before, but i spent all of my upbringing surfing Tassie waters which is pretty darn close to Vic water temps. From my experience it’s still pretty cold down there this time of year. You can usually get away with a 3/2 in summer only , but you’ll still feel the cold. If you don’t have a 4/3 or a 5/4/3 then I’d probably recommend taking the hood and booties. That way you’ll have an option if it does feel a little a chilly side.

As far a mellow waves in the area. I only really know Bells and Winkipop. Both can be mellow, but if you reckon it’s going to be around the 4ft range maybe best to explore a little further around the area. The great ocean road spans for a few hundred km’s. There’d be a few options around the area for sure.

If you have any further questions hit me up!

Keep shredding and I hope the trip goes well man!