The BOARDWORLD Forums ran from 2009 to 2021 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive

Binding Angles

Heya guys and gals,

I discussed this in a post a very long time ago but with less then a month before I am on the snow, I would like to clarify binding angles because I am still a little unsure what exactly I should be learning and advancing on. Currently I remember people saying +9/-9 for a beginner then I remember someone saying +16/-9 and even people saying +16/0 so I am unsure what I should be riding and what I actually want to go with.

Currently both my bindings are set to +9/-9 but want to make sure that is the right way to go or should I be doing something different. I remember when I was there last I was taking lessons on a hire board and was set at what I believe was +16/0. I am still learning and taking lessons when I get there for the first 4 days, however I now have all my own gear and now my own board and bindings so I can fiddle more.

I am 6"5’, weigh apox 80kgs, ride normal and have a 159W board.

I do apologize if this is a repost but I cant seem to find my other post. As always I appreciate everyones help and input.

The best way to learn is to generally have the same angles on both feet. This helps you ride switch later as you’re not pushing yourself to go one way instead of the other.

The angles you have generally relate to how flexible you are. So if you can bend down and put your hands flat on the ground when standing, stick to 9/-9. If you can’t touch your toes, you may need more like a 15/-15 stance..

The best way to decide is to put your boots on and strap in and see if you’re trying to push your feet / toes into the edges of the boot or not. I currently ride with 21/-21 cause i’m so inflexible.

Depends how you want to ride. Everyone has a different opinion on this but pretty standard for mainly regular riding and a little switch here and there +14/-9 or something around that would be pretty safe i’d say.