The BOARDWORLD Forums ran from 2009 to 2021 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive

Monday Maths Challenge

My year 5 daughter had this maths problem as part of her homework.  See if you can solve it:

A farmer buys 100 animals for $100.  The animals are lambs, ducks and chickens.  Lambs cost $5 each, ducks $2 and chickens 10c.  What are the numbers of lambs, ducks and chickens?

Took me too long but:

11 Lambs = $55
19 Ducks = $38
70 Chickens = $7

11+19+70 = 100
55+38+7 = 100

well done, sir.  Did you solve it with a computer or manually?

Pffft computers. You’d think I work in IT or something. Plus there is no fun in cheating.

(Had to remove clients phone numbers from my photo hahaha)

Yeah I spent a bit of time doing the same thing but after half an hour of “near misses” I still didn’t manage to hit the lucky combination.  Wrote a little program to brute force it.  Cheating, yes, but not really sure how they expected the kids to work this out.  I don’t think there’s enough information in there to solve it directly with algebra (3 variables, 2 knowns).

The best bit is now, when someone googles that question, the answer is here on Boardworld shaka

They can even cut and paste TJ’s workings!

I used the tried and trusted method of Guess and Check.

Last time I used this in an exam I got 1 out of like 5 points for not the correct working out. I’m sure there is a way you’re “supposed” to do this.

Work it out this way

$100 divided by Price of Animal
$100 gets you
20 Lambs or,
50 Ducks or,
1000 Chickens.

EDIT, actually read the whole question before my coffee… lol. Will delete the rest of what i wrote xD haha.

I dissagree with homework though… Managed to convince my teachers and parents in like year 8 or something, that homework was redundant and anti-productive. So they stopped giving it to me.

Mudhoney - 18 May 2015 01:15 PM

I don’t think there’s enough information in there to solve it directly with algebra (3 variables, 2 knowns).