The BOARDWORLD Forums ran from 2009 to 2021 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive

Help with Board Selection

Hey all.

First of all great website. I have been boarding for a few about 8 years but after reading the “stance” thread I made some changes to my set up and wow.

I have just read the counter rotation thread and I think that will bring some changes too. I can Bomb runs but I am very guilty of sliding the tail around and not getting a clean side cut.

Anyway I am looking a getting a new board so I can ride some switch, and I don’t think my current twin tip board is up to the task.

Im 183cm and 100kg’s.
I ride a Burton Super Model 163 with Triad Bindings. (approx 08’ board with 10’ bindings.)

I also ride a Burton X8 160 with EST bindings (approx 2010/11 board/bindings)

I love the supermodel and it really seems to tackle the mountain and groomers that I ride, I don’t really pop off anything I just enjoy cutting up groomers and then disappearing off piste. However it directional and can’t ride switch. I am keen to ride switch to tackle something else and improve my riding.

I bought the X8 as I thought I would enjoy the park. It turns out that the park and I disagree so you’ll only ever really find me in a boarder X track. I took the X8 out back to back with the supermodel two similar days last week. It did all right on the groomers but once I got of piste and in ice, it seemed to soft. The board would flex and I found it hard to get back enough to get the nose right up to clear the soft stuff. I actually went right over the nose.

Reading the camber thread I think I would be interested in a Custom or a Custom X at the 162 mark. I was hoping for some opinion and if I’m on the right track.

Board would be used in Aus, I’ve been to Japan and NZ but I will be staying for a few years to come.

Thanks again

Stitt

Welcome to Boardworld, TheStitt.

I’m stoked to hear the stance article helped your riding. shaka

The sentence that got me was this one: