The BOARDWORLD Forums ran from 2009 to 2021 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive

Warming up and injury prevention.

bangabain - 28 June 2009 12:43 PM

Hi guys, this question is mainly for Becky (but others can answer if they like) -

Just wondering what your thoughts are on a dynamic warmup (ie short jog followed by ballistic stretching in the same mode as what the exercise you are about to do is) versus the more ‘traditional’ style warmup you mentioned earlier with again a jog/similar but followed by a more static stretching regime?

The expert opinion on which is the better option seems to change back and forth every couple of years, but what is being taught at the moment (yes, i am only a know all student in my final year of human movement (sports science) getting prepared to be unleashed on the world and be a pioneer you know with all the hopes and dreams etc…) is that the dynamic warmup is the (supposed) best method for increasing/keeping peformance in areas such as jump height and running etc, with static stretching (according to some research) actually reducing performance for some reason - perhaps due to golgi-tendon organs and muscle spindles being desensitised and as such reducing the effect of the stretch-shorten cycle (one of the basis’ of plyometrics) and has a similar effect to static stretching in injury prevention (ie no more injuries with ballistic vs static stretching)...

I can see the obvious need for flexibility in snowboarding in an injury prevention sense, however do you think stretching methods with a more plastic (long term) effect such as PNF stretching and (as mentioned above) yoga etc would be more appropriate than the elastic (short term) benefit that static stretching before going out and boarding all day brings?