The BOARDWORLD Forums ran from 2009 to 2021 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive

Lateral slide on rails/boxes

I’m a little new to rails and jibbing so any advice would be greatly appreciated.

I find when I pop onto boxes/rails (whether it be 50-50, boardslide) and I approach the rail/box at an angle from the side, I tend to carry too much momentum and end up sliding laterally (across) the rail or box.

As a result, I usually can’t slide all the way to the end of the rail, but end up having fall/pop off earlier as I’m about to slide off to a side.

Any techniques I can try in order to stay straight on the rail?

https://www.boardworld.com.au/content/category/jibbing/
Here man. They’ve got quite good stuff about jibbing and might be able to answer your question. Theres some about body position and all that.
Is it a simple flat funbox you are talking about or a down rail which requires that you approach from the side?
Because the one simple solution would be to align yourself with the feature and just 50-50 it without coming in from the side.

I’ve read through whats here on boardworld and it doesn’t really answer my question.
I looking to progress beyond approaching the box/rail front on and doing plain 50-50s.

I’m attempting FS/BS 50-50 and FS/BS board slides now and I find I’m slipping across the feature…
I’ve noticed that if I keep my body position straight, my lateral inertia drags me across the rail..
Should I be leaning back a little against my direction of motion to counter-balance this?

i dont think that will help too much if you lean against your direct of motion. a funbox is almost frictionless so trying to change your direction on it is very hard.
a rail, on the other hand,you might be able to.
if you are approaching it from the side, maybe try to narrow this angle down a little? or aim to get onto the second half of the rail so if your intertia does drag you across, you’d be out of the feature before you slide off sideways.