The BOARDWORLD Forums ran from 2009 to 2021 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive

You Lazy Bum-A Blog

Hello all and welcome to my blog for boardworld.  A little bit about me and why I’m writing a blog.  I’m a snowboard instructor, I have been teaching for 4 seasons, 3 in Canada and one in my present location of New Zealand’s south island.  I’m not teaching this season, in fact I’m not working at all.  Well not paid employment, I’m taking this season to work on my riding, for fun (park riding) and to improve my technical freeriding (for professional reasons (and fun)).

My aim with this blog is to provide something that’s interesting and hopefully entertaining to read as well as giving people who haven’t snowboarded for an entire season a flavour of what the experience can be like.
This is my first blog so if people have any comments or things they’d like covered then just private message me.  Without further ado onto my first post.

Straight Airs and Dingy Lairs:

So I just found out, I can’t do straight airs.  I know this might sound a little dramatic, ok it is a little dramatic but the truth is I do a top notch impression of a Dutch corn grinding facility if I’m given more than a little airtime.  So while my friends have been throwing down in the park I’ve been taking the last week doing something I should have done in my first season not my tenth, learning the art of the humble straight air.

So a fair question at this point is how have you failed to notice this deficiency in all this time?  The simple truth, denial.  This ugly nugget of information has resided in a dark dank quadrant of my brain in between the knowledge that, those gymnasts are only fourteen and I really like the taste of Baileys over ice.