The BOARDWORLD Forums ran from 2009 to 2021 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive

Help with Knee Pad Choice?

Hey Crew

So when I started skating, I padded up as much as I could (with snowboard armour: wrists guards, soft knee pads, impact shorts).
I’m getting better at falling these days so I started wearing less and less pads.
At the moment I’m not wearing any pads at all.

But I want to start pushing myself again, and basically, if I bust a knee, I can’t go to Japan and work.

SO, what’s your favourite brand/model of knee pad?
I skate a lot of small-medium transition. So I might not need the biggest vert pad out there, but definitely want something that can take some impact.

I’ve been looking at 187, Protec and TSG.
I used to have some TSG Forces when I vert bladed as a kid. I liked them but people say they slip around too much.
Protec’s to me, look like a nice cheap option but it seams like u get what u pay for in durability.
187s I’ve had no experience with but people seem to love how well they stay in place. Little bit pricey.

Is that kinda correct? Are there any other brands I should look at?

I’d offer my advice, but havent had much experience with pads, sorry mate.
The only ones Ive used are TSG. And only used them once, dont wear pads. Only sometimes wear shin guards if my shin splits are playing up.

Oh well, too late. I bought some LOL

I figured these should be good. People give them good reviews and I’ve noticed the are the most commonly used by vert/pool skaters (I realise they may all be sponsored by them).

But, they look the least bulky, people say they stay in place well, and they can handle Pedro Barros smashing down to earth in them. I figured they were a safe bet.

I’ll do a review once I’ve used them a few times.

^^ You beat me to it. 187s are the best on the market. They were definitely the most in-demand knee pads during my time working in a skate shop. Great choice there, mate.