The BOARDWORLD Forums ran from 2009 to 2021 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive

What’s your worst boarding injury?

I went out with my aunty last night who is a mad keen ice skater, and she was showing me some pretty nasty scars from a broken wrist and arm.

It got me thinking about the associated risks, and the common injurys suffered when boarding. I bet there are also some pretty obscure injuries too.

What’s the worst injury you’ve had from boarding?

I’m injury free, but I’m only a beginner, so there’s plenty of time for that yet.  LOL

P.S. - Bonus points if you post photos!!

I’ve had many injuries, but the ones that stick out in my memory are…

I was stretchered off the hill in Thredbo in 02 or 03. I was about to 50-50 the 6 metre rail, first run of the day and conditions were super icy. I hit an icy patch just before I left the lip of the gap, slipped out, and bent my whole body around the rail. My left thigh took the full impact of the hit. I tried to stand and my leg just gave way. It was so painful and I felt this massive lump (hard as a rock) sticking out of my leg. My leg actually felt deformed and my immediate thought was a compound fracture. I did well not to go into shock and I signaled for some people to call patrol. They felt the same thing sticking out of my leg and also assumed it was broken. They wanted to cut my pants off right there on the snow and I said no, just get me to the medical center. Anyway, it turned out I had a haematoma the size of a lemon in the side of my thigh. I was in such pain, couldn’t walk for days, but so stoked it wasn’t broken. She said because I was young, my femur bent and didn’t break, if I was any older it probably would have snapped my femur. I had a bruise on the side of my leg for no joke about six months.