The BOARDWORLD Forums ran from 2009 to 2021 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive

Feedback on my riding…

I’ve been riding for a few years now and only ever took lessons for the first 3 days of my riding so no doubt there is a lot I can improve upon and plenty of bad habits I’ve made along the way.

I’m pretty sure that with a lot of my riding being on a shorter/softer/forgiving board for quite some time has made me pretty lazy and my technique has suffered considerably from it.

This is the first video I’ve ever had taken of my riding and I had it taken purely so I can get some feedback from it so feel free to throw up as much feedback as you want and be as harsh as you want to be as I’m open to anything which will help me improve my riding. Obviously anyone else feel free to throw up videos in this thread and hopefully we can all learn from eachother and become better riders resulting in better days on the mountains grin

Cheers,
Michael.

Cheers, but no doubt too relaxed can’t be a good thing. I can definitely see that my upper body hardly changes/moved at all when changing direction so I’m sure there is some room for improvement there. Not to mention I can see that I’m just sliding the back of the board around a lot when transitioning from toe/heel and not holding much in the way of an edge. Just have to see what some more experienced people on here have to say about it all before I start jumping to conclusions.

Hey Michael,

You are certainly comfortable and solid on your board. As an instructor, the first thing I look at is your stance. Your stance is the most important thing to get right, as it has the biggest affect on your riding as a whole. If you correct your stance, you will find the performance of your riding will improve significantly. For that reason, let’s concentrate on your stance first.