The BOARDWORLD Forums ran from 2009 to 2021 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive

Help with board choice please :)

Hey crew
I have about a month to hang out on the central coast before I go back to the snow. So I thought hey, I should be surfing!

I’ve been looking at buying my first board! (2nd hand cause I can’t spend much).

Last summer I started learning to surf (and loved it!), I demoed a 8ft Super Fish (I think it was called). It was a fun shape.

I would like to move to short boards but I’ve never tried one. Am I doing it too soon?
To be honest with myself, I am still a beginner. I can get up and ride it to the shore, and I’m just starting to make it turn.

If you think I’m not switching too soon, would 7ft be okay for me to ride?
I’m 6"4 and I way 80-85kg which is quite light for my height. My height/size don’t really work together on a sizing chart lol.
I realise it’s more about thickness & width etc, but what would be some good dimensions for me?

I found a 7ft board for $200 down the road from me. Could you guys help a brother out here cause, I’m way more of a Yuki Kuma than a Mizu Kuma shred

I have probably asked this question before but which part of the coast are you surfing? Might run into you as I’ve just started to get back into the surf. Shift work and laziness will be the death of me

I like Umina (don’t judge me, I’m a beginner lol).
Or Wamberal, or anywhere that won’t kill me. But I have a car with racks so I can go to any beach really. I don’t know anyone down here anymore so I’d love to go for surf with you or any BoardWorlders for that matter.

Also I just found a Mini Mal at a warehouse clearance. Would these dimensions work for me:

7’0 long

20 1/2 wide

2 3/8 thick

I’m in between Killcare and macmastersbl but i only bodyboard So its easy to get to any beach really. give me a yell and we can grab a few waves.

Sorry I can’t help with the board though.