The BOARDWORLD Forums ran from 2009 to 2021 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive

Queenstown NZ Season 2010 - The Blog

The Introduction

Hi All,

Welcome to the 2010 Queenstown Season Blog. 

Residing in Melbourne for the past 5-6 years, this will be my first full season within an hour of slopes and I am stoked. I am over here with my Girlfriend, taking a year off work to travel the globe, Queenstown being our first stop. We will be spending the whole season here before heading to Canada with some USa trips for the Northern Hemisphere Winter, via a 6 week European break, before heading home via Japan. But lets not get ahead of ourselves, I have 5 months of pure bliss here in Queenstown before all of that.

I have been snowboarding for the past 4 years or so, having made the mandatory trips to Queenstown the past 2 years, it was time for us to do a season. I am sure many of you will be taking a trip over here at some stage this season, so will be keeping a keen eye as I bring you details of how the season is unfolding, not only on the slopes but also in the town. I am equipped with season passes at Coronet Peak, The Remarkables and Cardrona, so cannot wait for the season to kick into full swing.

We have been over for a couple of weeks and settled in nicely. We’ve got accomodation and wheels so the basics are sorted. Rachael has scored a job on mountain so we have some sort of income preventing us from eating away at our savings. I am currently looking for some sort of employment for the season, as are the 500 other tourists that have made the decision to spend winter in this glorious town – Competition is tough, but unemployment also means more riding time so there is no rush.

I am sure you will get to know me better as the season goes on, for those coming over at some stage, I hope to catch up for a beer or two.

Cheers,
Brandon

Clearing the Cobwebs - Coronet Peak