The BOARDWORLD Forums ran from 2009 to 2021 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive

HOTHAM 2010 - Live From the Mountain

Tambazz - 03 July 2010 03:21 AM

grin  grin  grin

Warm again today and brilliant sunshine with just a hint of a breeze.

SUMMIT OPENS TODAY

This should take some pressure off Big D for beginners and ski school

With all of this week so far pretty much with the same sunny, light breeze conditions there is not anything new to post.
We had a 2cm dusting of very light dry snow on Monday night which was nice to see on the windscreen in the morning.

It is off to Harry the Snowdragon’s Birthday Bash at Big D this afternoon for me.
After that there is Fireworks and Night Skiing - which I have never done before, so I might as well give it a few turns.

I am really waiting for the School Holidays to be over with and hopefully some new snow to arrive before venturing out onto the slopes again.

They are not opening Heavenly Valley until 8:30am instead of the 7:30am Wednesdy to Sunday starts - need some new snow for the early openers to commence

WEDNESDAY 7TH JULY - HARRY’S BIRTHDAY & NIGHT BOARDING

It was Harry the Snowdragon’s birthday today and DP and Hotham were abuzz with blue dragon tails, dragon helmet heads and dragon wings.
Headed up just after the birthday cake was cut and “Happy Birthday” was sung by what looked like one million kids.
Nephew and niece joined in the festivities.

still time for one more ski before the lift closed at 5pm:

We retired for a couple of quick ones at The Genny before the Fireworks started at 6:15pm:

Strapped on the board and decided I’d give the night boarding a bit of a go.
There were soooooo many people the lift queues were ginormous!
Harry the Snowdragon also jumped on his board for a few turns down Big D with the kids.

No goggles required:

Harry was kind enough to let us have a group shot:

Just a quick pic of us in the DP Onsen - every day after Ski School the kids wanted to do this: