Aussie Jeff Rowley Finalist in the XXL Big Wave Awards


Australian Big Wave Surfer Jeff Rowley Finalist in the 2012 Oscars of Surfing

Big Wave Surfer and Adventure Athlete, Jeff Rowley has just been announced as one of five finalists in the 2012 Billabong XXL Big Wave Awards in the prestigious Ride of the Year category.

Jeff Rowley from Torquay, Victoria Australia caught the finalist ride on 30 January 2012 at the home of the world’s biggest waves, the infamous Peahi ‘Jaws’ in Maui, Hawaii.

Rowley caught the monster ride by paddling in at Jaws, which was until recently considered impossible to catch and ride without the use of a jet ski ‘tow-in’ and foot straps.

Ride of the Year is the most prestigious award in the Billabong XXL Big Wave Awards, which are regarded as the Oscars of surfing.

The XXL awards celebrate the greatest achievements and advancements in big wave surfing performance throughout the year.

The 2011/2012 year was a historic year for big wave surfing with surfers shattering the boundaries of what was considered possible and setting new benchmarks for performance and the future direction of big wave surfing.

Rowley exclaimed “I’m excited to have my achievements in big wave surfing recognised by my peers and the Billabong XXL Awards”.

“I’ve had laser beam focus this year to make sure I was at the biggest and best swells at the world’s best big wave locations”.

“Paddling in to massive waves in extreme conditions is the new frontier in big wave surfing and I’m glad to be at the forefront of this movement”.

“I’m really excited about the next few years to see where we can take paddle in surfing as we rewrite the history books of what’s possible”

Rowley’s nominated ride was part of his ‘Charge for Charity’ quest to overcome his fears by paddling in and catching a 50 foot wave to raise $1 mil (AUD) for Breast Cancer Australia.

Nominees for the 2012 Billabong XXL Big Wave Awards Ride of the Year are Jeff Rowley – ‘Jaws’ Peahi Maui, Nathan Fletcher – ‘Teahupoo’ Tahiti, Greg Long – ‘Puerto Escondido’ Mexico, Garrett McNamara – ‘Nazare’ Portugual and Ryan Hipwood – ‘Cloudbreak’ Fiji.

The Winner of the Billabong XXL Big Wave Awards Ride of the Year will take home $50,000 in cash prize money.

The Winners of the Billabong XXL Big Wave Awards will be announced at the invitation-only prestigious awards night at The Grove Theater in Anaheim, California on May 4 2012.