The BOARDWORLD Forums ran from 2009 to 2021 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive

savings for canada

hey there i’m really hoping to get over to canada at the end of the year and work their season. but i have no idea how much money i should save, but should probably start thinking about it soon. i also want to work the aus season and have applied for every resort, so i understand that i won’t be saving much money there haha

any sort of feedback is helpful as im just starting out and could use all the help i can cheers

Welcome to Boardworld, wetblanket. cool smile

Any idea where you want to stay in Canada?

A lot of resorts have staff accommodation available; that’s usually the cheapest option and a great way to meet people. I believe staff housing in Whistler runs approx $450 a month.

The first thing you will need to sort out is a work visa. You can apply here: http://www.whpcanada.org.au/

One of the requirements of the visa is you show evidence of $3000 in a bank account. This is to show that you can support yourself while getting settled and finding a job. As long as you look for a job fairly quickly, $3000 in savings should be more than enough to get you through the season (providing you work).

The other expenses include flights over. On average I’ve spent approx $1800 on return flights to Canada (sometimes cheaper).

The other thing you need to consider is equipment and anything else you need for travel, i.e. snowboard, jacket, pants etc.

To summarise, you will need $3000 in the bank, approx $1800 for flights, and you need to think in advance about accommodation options and gear you need to purchase etc. Those are the main expenses.

Let me know if you have any further questions and I will be happy to help you. Cheers.

Don’t forget about travel insurance as well!