The BOARDWORLD Forums ran from 2009 to 2021 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive

park/pow setup help

just as the title says.. would u be able to recommend a setup for me for park/pow board, boots and bindings?

im totally new to the park/pow scene.. and im just a beginner/early intermediate mountain boarder..

i will be using the board in canada at first.. then mostly in oz and nz after that..

ive been looking at the burton hero, mayhem or the operator but really have no clue what to look for.. not sure of what boots and bindings or what flex im looking for.. im lookin to keep the gear for awhile.. so the gear shud be for beginner/intermediate if possible

im around 176cm tall.. 95kg.. size 10 feet..

thanks [=

What equipment do you currently use and waht are your feeling on it, what do you like and dislike about it. What is your experience level and how often do you go snowboarding?
Truthfully any board can go in all conditions, but there are features about different boards that work better in different situations.
Give us a little more information and someone will be able to make some suggestions.
Also, where do you ride most often? how many days a year? what conditions?
Tel us more info so we can help.

Do you currently have any other equipment? What do you have?

Boards:

OK so generally a powder board and a park board are different. A powder board is typically longer, with a tapered shape, and a setback stance. A park board is typically shorter, and twin or twin-like in flex and shape. If you want a board that will be good in powder and park, you need to look for a versitile board, rather than an all-out pow or park specific board. Fortunately there are a lot of boards like this on the market (boards like the Burton Custom etc…)