The BOARDWORLD Forums ran from 2009 to 2021 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive

Ankle Guards for Skateboarders?

Poll: Are ankle guards appropriate to use on the sidewalk when learning?
Total Votes: 2
No. Too restrictive
Yes. They are important for safety.

Hi. I am an attorney in New York. I have a client who was new to skateboarding. He was about 15 when this accident occurred. He was told to stay around his apartment building by his Mom, when he was practicing after school. Turns out that his skateboard went into an uneven broken hole on the sidewalk, and when his skateboard tipped over he fell, fracturing his ankle. I didn’t believe that ankle guards were appropriate for skateboarders because they restrict movement, but recently saw some ads for ankle guards that claim not to restrict. Do any of you know of anyone who is expert on the subject of skateboard safety? safety equipment? If so, I would appreciate your response. I can be reached at .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address).  Also, what do you think about ankle guards?
Thank you.

I don’t think it’s something skaters would use unless they have a prior ankle injury.

Yeah I agree ^^

I don’t think people use ankle guards or anything unless they have had a prior ankle injury. When I rolled my ankle I started wearing an ankle guard until my ankle fully healed then I took it off. If it did wear an ankle guard I suppose it might restrict some movement but probably not enough to make your ankle extremely stiff.

I actually wear a soccer type shin guard. I used to have very bad shin splints to the point if stress fractures so any impact on the shin and I’d be out for the day.  The have plastic caps over each ankle bone too so protects them from bashing too. No support tho

They don’t restrict movement in the slightest so they have given me great confidence boost in hucking the board round with out having to worry bout the dreaded shin bash. And u don’t notice them under ur jeans