The BOARDWORLD Forums ran from 2009 to 2021 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive

Who’s learning to surf this summer?

starting lessons in 2 days,, cant wait

Yep going to have a go with year and hopefully I catch the surf bug.

going for my first surf tomorrow for the day smile hopefully ill be able to stand up after 1 day of surfing haha

shaka

Got a second hand board and new wetsuit. Gave it a go on Monday so much fun even though the water was like a washing machine.

shaka

Yew good on you man. I’m a rookie surfer myself. Little frustrating sometimes, but the more I do it, the more fun it is.

And it’s always good to just be in the ocean

Yeah, the ocean’s like the snow!!!!!

Even if ya have a shit day, ya somehow still come out feelin great!!!!!

Just went for my first surf of the year. MAN it felt good to be in the water today.

I still suck, but I didn’t suck any more than last time I surfed which was a year ago, so I’m happy with that.
I can still get up and ride all the way in, I’m just working on getting the board moving across the wave. I do turn, but when I do that’s usually the end of my ride because I think I turn and put my weight on the back foot too much when I do. Snowboarding habits I guess.

I was going to Hawaii on the way to Canada and had plans to get lesson etc. but sadly I can’t afford it wah  but hey, I’m going to Canada so I’m not complaining.

There’s no surf schools that I know of around here so I guess I’ll just keep practicing and pick it up however I can. Think I’ll go tomorrow too if it’s not too flat ocean

Feet need to wider apart than snowboarding.

Snowboarding usually requires front foot weighted so your statement confuses me? Surfers learning to snowboard have to overcome their instinct to be back foot heavy…

Wider stance while surfing Andy!