The BOARDWORLD Forums ran from 2009 to 2021 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive

How seriously do you take your snowboarding?

Hello,
I’m Jake, and i’m a snowboarding instructor from Ontario, Canada.  I just spent a winter out west in Whistler, BC, teaching and riding every day.  It’s a pretty sweet way to spend your time.  i met a lot of people, instructors and people who ride on their days off alike, and everyone seems to have slightly different views as to what snowboarding means to them.  of course, the underlying theme is that everyone shares a passion for this “sport”, but some people tend to take it more seriously than others.  i have friends who spend hours discussing the finer points of mogul riding, down unweighted turns, independant leg movement and the like, while i have other friends who talk about how sick their day in the park was, or how their new jacket is so sick cause no one has it yet… I’m not saying one view is better than the other, or that it is wrong to take something as simple as snowboarding and disect it into fashion and technical feedback, i’m just curious…
how seriously do you take your snowboarding?
do you get into arguments about how you should tweak your front boards, or how you should be steering your board with your back leg?  or do you go ride every day and not think about any of that stuff?
again, i’m not saying one way is better than the other, i just want to know how other people view snowboarding.

Asking the question about how serious others are is so subjective.
I may say I’m serious but only go 5 days a year, and wish I could go more, but I stare at my equipment in my bedroom all day.
I could say I’m serious and I ride 70 days a season but couldnt tell you a bit of knowledge about a down unweighted or up unweighted turns, or the difference between centripetal and centrifugal forces and how they apply to my turns.