The BOARDWORLD Forums ran from 2009 to 2021 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive

The link between Skateboarding & Snowboarding

Hey peeps
So how many people here Snowboard AND Skateboard?
It makes total sense to me (in theory) to do both since when u don’t have one you have the other. And lots of friends have told me that their skating has improved their snowboarding and vice versa.
I have been chasing the winter for almost 4 years now and even the short period between seasons drives me so nuts I HAVE to get on a skateboard to replace snowboarding. But I just can’t get into it :(
I grew up on the aggressive inline skating scene and always loved it, but a skateboard isn’t attached to my feet and feels so small compared to a snowboard, it just feels wrong (I’m almost 6 foot 5 but I have the biggest deck I could find)

I recently gave up on the idea and went back to blading. And it feels as awesome as it always has (I’m ready to get hated on for this, do your worst wood pushers raspberry )

So my next thought is if I grew up Blading then maybe I should have been a… skier? Oh HELL NO!
I ski from time to time, but there is no way I could ever replace boarding with skiing.
So I Inline in the summer and Snowboard in the winter… that’s just weird.

So how many people here Snowboard AND Skateboard? And what are your thoughts and feelings on it??

I owned skateys as a whipper snapper, but never really got into it.

Although I HAVE been toying with the idea of splurging on one these to ride over the summer. They look like a great way to shave a bit of skin off the elbows etc.

http://www.freebordaustralia.com/?gclid=COSG3LPY3KoCFYMlpAodfB6S8g

Just lucky that ya don’t ride a scooter, Andy!!!!!  gulp

Used to skate a lot when younger but got sick of hurting myself all the time. Plus I dont really like it that much!

Inline skate all you want! I couldn’t care less as long as your having fun! each to their own!

Tills - 20 August 2011 01:11 AM