The BOARDWORLD Forums ran from 2009 to 2021 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive

Whistler 2016/17

Well this is a timely thread, I’m also an Aussie looking to work at Whistler for the 2016/2017 season and I’m trying to find out more info about the job fair in late Oct.

I was going to sign up for the Working Holiday Club but they’ve filled their Whistler Quota already so looks like I’ll have to head over for the job fair. My aim is to get a full time job with Whistler so I can get staff accomodation but the only thing I’m worried about is that if I can’t get a job with the resort at the fair I’m going to have to find my own accomodation which I heard at that time is difficult.

I have retail and fast food experience but I have been working in an office for the last three years, I’m hoping that if I do my research and prepare though that my chances of landing a job with the resort will be pretty good.

I guess I don’t really have a specific question as a lot have been answered here already but any advice you could give a first timer would be much appreciated, especially with landing a job with the resort!

readyforsomesnow - 22 February 2016 02:00 PM

Would it be wise to start my police check now and once I get that back then apply for my visa?

Also in terms of working, I know that you apply for the job fair a month before it actually starts. Is it correct that you can only apply for one job through the fair? I ask because I haven’t had much hospitality experience. I’ve primarily worked within offices and retail/beauty. But I’ve heard hospitality is better for tips etc(but obviously if I haven’t worked in a bar before I can’t expect to start in whistler). What jobs would you recommend applying for?

I’m trying to do it all by myself, do you think it’s doable or is it worth going through somewhere like the Whc?