The BOARDWORLD Forums ran from 2009 to 2021 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive

Intro - and Question re G-Form protective clothing

Hi, I James, a former skier and now once a year snowboarder. I am not a beginner but I would not class myself as even intermediate on a board.

Last year I managed to fall just in the wrong way and break my collar bone ... as per the image below. Many thanks to the ski patrol at Buller for the rescue !

I am 45, so it was a painful 10 weeks before the ends formed a union, followed by another 6 weeks of rehab for the poor old wasted shoulder and arm.

Anyway I don’t want to to that again. I have been trying to strengthen my shoulders with resistance training, but am also looking to wear some protective clothing. I am looking for some advice about armour .. in particular the G-Form protective clothing. Does anyone here have experience with it ?

Welcome to Boardworld, James. cool smile

Sorry to hear about your injury. Did you do any damage besides for the break? Obviously you would have lost strength in your shoulder etc., but any damage to the joint/ligaments?

I’m no expert but I’ll pass this thread on to Becky, our resident physiotherapist.

Hi James,

That’s one neat looking break. Glad to hear you’re doing strength training on your shoulder. On a positive note, I’ve seen many cases like this, where the injured side has ended up stronger than the uninjured side, thanks to rebab. What’s your range of movement like? Hoping you’re pain free by now….?!?

I’ve actually not heard of G- form protective garments before but I’ve looked up images and looks great to me. I can see how it would be useful to help prevent further injuries from falls onto your shoulder. I’m a big fan of Skins and compressive clothing as well. Can anyone else give some personal feedback on G-form garments to James? I’m curious to hear myself….

All the best. Any other physio related questions let me know!

Thanks rider26 and Becky.