The BOARDWORLD Forums ran from 2009 to 2021 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive

Cartels, Forces or something else?

Hey Guys,
I’m in the market for some new bindings. I’ve been riding Burton Infidels for about 4 years and they’re pretty trashed. I’m heading to Big White for a season in November so would make sense to wait but I want them for the end of our season/I just don’t want to wait.

I’m looking for that “do everything” binding to go on my Westmark. Been looking at Cartels since I was happy with the build quality of my infidels, but have never ridden any other bindings apart from some cheap rossi ones that came with my first board so i’d be happy to change. Also heard good things about union forces and flux ds.

Probably dont need to put this much research in as anything I get will be step up, but if anyone has any advice/experience it would be good to hear it.
Thanks

Id go the cartels if I were you and you want something right away, I ride unions, but they are 3 years old and have been decent bindings and are still going strong. On the other hand the new unions from what ive seen are s__t. I would know at least 5 people who have had them and had the ratchets break down in around a week. They have been replaced but the same thing keeps happening. Id suggest wait until the 2015 union stuff comes out if your keen on them as they will be much better.

I had cartels and changed to ride rodeos, wouldnt go back.
Not sure about your current burtons, but one thing i found with the cartels, and this might not bother you at all, but the high backs when folded down stick out further than the board, pissed me off to no end! gets caught in gates and other stuff in lift lines, doesnt fit well in snowboard bag so you end up taking them off all the time, not for me!

Hey Ryan,

What are you after in a binding, re flex/response?????

Where do ya ride the most, and what do ya like to do/wanna do?????