The BOARDWORLD Forums ran from 2009 to 2021 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive

Need help/advice for a new board

Howdy All!

Looking to get a new board for this upcoming season.

I want a playful board just to muck around with butters and having fun on the hill, throw in some presses and jibs for basic features in the park (Boxes, small kickers etc as I am an intermediate ride and beginner in park);
I’m about 6ft and 106kg but I want something a little smaller than my current 161 to throw around (in OZ snow)

Was thinking something like this?
Size: 157w - 159w (Size 12 boot so will need to be wide)
Flex: Pretty soft (2-4)? Maybe higher due to my weight
Full Rocker or rocker/camber hybrid
Twin tip & Centre stance (I ride pretty much duck feet and want to improve my switch game too)

I can’t really find anything in the above and not sure if I’m looking for the right things and in the right places.

Any advice?

Jimmy

I’m not the best on board specs..  But I can give you a few names to look up and consider..

DC Focus
DC Ply
Lib Tech Burtner box scratcher (my bf has this and just pre ordered the new model
          because he loves it so much for park riding)
Lib Tech Skate Banana
GNU Street series
GNU Space Case
Burton Nug (this is a much shorter board (my mate has it and its 10cms shorter than his
              other boards))

hopefully that list helps you out a bit..

a few of the guys on here will know other boards to suggest, smile.

thanks for that - ill check those out
I rode my mates Skate banana last season and loved it - that is probably what prompted me to get a second board.

May I also ask where he pre ordered the Lib tech from?

Easy. Burton Custom Flying V or just the rocker bend. Should be able to find one for $400 ish online. They haven’t changed in the last few years so if you don’t need the latest graphic you can save a few $$.