The BOARDWORLD Forums ran from 2009 to 2021 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive

BajaBoard - Sneak Peek into a motorized snowboard simulator

Hi Guys,

My name is George, from Melbourne. I’m proud to lift the veil on a project that a friend and I have been working on since 2010. Presenting the BajaBoard.

Words are cheap, so before I get into any of that, here is what we have actually built:
Prototype Photo

We started with the idea of creating a motorized board that snowboarders can enjoy in the off-season. To date, all motorized boards have been more or less mobility scooters;  we wanted one that can actually FREESTYLE.  I’m not talking about a casual drift or an incidental jump off a mound. I’m talking serious air time, grinds, grabs and flips. Think Crusty Demons, think Nitro Circus.

We designed BajaBoard for the extreme sports enthusiasts, the adrenalin junkies, the dare devils and perhaps a few nut cases. It is designed by board riders (and professional engineers) for board riders. Throw it into the trunk or strap it to your roof rack. Turn your local park into a motocross arena at your whim (with council approval, hopefully:p).

The machine you see in the photo is our Prototype Generation 1. It has not been refined or styled. From playing with this baby, we have learnt many lessons which we are implementing into a Prototype Generation 2 this and next month. It will be lighter, meaner, slightly smaller, and better integrated. Parts are in transit as I write this.

The BajaBoard’s proprietary design will offer:-

- Independent suspension & steering - to land BIG jumps and for responsive handling;
- Dynamic wheel behavior - stable at speed and easy to carve;
- Heaps of low-end torque, and a top speed in the order of 50km/h;
- Optimized engineering - strong enough for stunts, and weighing in sub-15kg (and like a bad strip poker player, we are constantly taking more off).

It will also feature a grind plate.