The BOARDWORLD Forums ran from 2009 to 2021 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive

Fins

How many of you have experimented with different fins on your surfboard? Working in a surf shop got me really interested in different fins and how they change the way your surfboard rides. I have played around with quite a few FCS fins, mostly those recommended by our friendly FCS rep. My current favourites are the PC-5 - they completely changed the way my surfboard rides.

I just wanted to open this discussion for anyone interested in fins and how they work…

As a bigger guy I have had some bad bad experiences with FCS, the plugs just won’t stop ripping out, not from hitting anything, just from stresses inflicted from a 100kg guy reefing them around.  I have been halfway through backside bottom turns and felt the fins snap and then spun out, not a good feeling.  I’m not saying this in the light of being the wordls most powerful surfer or anything like that but it’s happened on more occasions than I have fingers to count with.

As a result of that I swapped over to the On A Mission system as my shaper was of the opinion it was indestructible and I was in the process of ordering 4 boards for Indo and didn’t want them all to be farked in the fin dept within 2 days.  The OAM never ripped out but they weren’t the best fins really, got on futures and really liked those both as asystem and the fins themselves.

The only FCS fins I really liked were made of fibreglass, I got them from Skipp. They had cut them down them from a big stock fixed fin and had divits like a golf ball.
I also tried curved side fins, again made of glass. With the extra surface area could be smaller and gave my board more drive in turns.

Any board I order have fixed fins. Fixed a fins are so much better than a replaceable system. Waaay less drag.