The BOARDWORLD Forums ran from 2009 to 2021 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive

Ski Tube - Perisher

Need some local knowledge please!

I’m new to riding on this side of the globe, so I wanted some tips on the blue mountains.

Hitting up Perisher and Threbo in August, and driving there from Sydney.

I’ve been told about the ‘Ski Tube’ but just wanted some feed back on it.

What’s the deal? Is it any good?

If I park there, is it free for the whole week I’m there?

If I park there, does that mean I don’t have to buy a National Park Pass for my car and I don’t have to buy Chains either?

At the Perisher end how easy is it then to get to your accommodation?

I’ve looked on their website and stuff, but it didn’t seem that clear to me.

Any tips/advice would be cool thanks.

What is the “ski tube”?

It’s a train that runs from somewhere near Perisher, to Perisher and beyond.

I guess it’s kinda like a Park and Ride.

Hey Woody,

The Ski Tube is half way between Jindabyne and Thredbo. It’s basically a big car park with a train station.

Is it any good? Not really. It’s just a bulky train getting you from point A to B. Nothing special about it at all.

I believe parking is free. I’m sure someone here can confirm that.

You will not need to pay for Park entry as the Ski Tube is just before the Park entrance to Thredbo. You will not need chains to the Ski Tube (unless there is a freak storm), and you are not required to have them with you, as you are not in the National Park.

You will however need to pay Park entry when you go to Thredbo, and if you are driving a 2WD, you will need to carry chains.

In regards to getting to your accomodation in Perisher, I am not sure. It would be best to speak to the agents you booked with.

Hope that helps.

hmm ski tube.. that’s a neat idea

Cheers Rider 26!

Good to know.

I thought this was going to be a video of the resort.

I tell you what, once I’ve been I’ll post a vid.

Woody - 18 June 2009 03:52 AM