The BOARDWORLD Forums ran from 2009 to 2021 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive

New Board/Setup Help!

Hey guys, I just moved back up North after living down South for the last 5 years, and I’m dying to get back on the mountains. I haven’t been on a board in the last 6 years and am starting from scratch again with little knowledge.

Im 6’1, around 170 lbs, size 12 shoe, and I have two years of previous experience all with a single board. The board I use to ride was a 162 (or 163) Burton Canyon, that’s all I can remember. I have to get an entire new setup now, and I remember feeling like the canyon was way too long for me. I didn’t really hit the park too often, mainly just trails and the jumps/moguls that were on them. I just enjoyed flying around the trails, carving it up and doing switches/180s.
Right now I have no direction or idea of where to even start my search. Some things I am wondering and trying to get advice on are:

1. Length (pretty sure I’m only looking at W because of my foot size)
-Does a 158-159 seem alright? Could I possibly go a little shorter? I’m not sure how drastic of a change this would be from my old board.

2. Stance?
-I know nothing about stance and have no idea how my bindings were set before. I think I would like if my feet were a little more straight as opposed to duck, but can I mess around with this once I actually get some gear?
-My comfortable stance width is around 20 inches (inside foot to inside foot).
-I like to think that I need equal length and tips on both ends.

3. Type (regular mountain/flex?)
-I have no idea about cambers, and not sure if it would even make a difference for someone like me. Also, I think an all mountain board would work best as this would be my only board.

4. Bindings
-Are certain bindings important for certain styles or can I just go out and buy any kind to throw onto my board?