The BOARDWORLD Forums ran from 2009 to 2021 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive

Knee Surgery rehab

Hey Guys,

just over 10 weeks ago, i had a knee surgery (key hole/arthroscopy) on my left knee (first time). recovery seem to be goign well and i started training again (wrestling, running, weights) but it still seem to be playing up a little at times. like it’s aching day to day and it doesnt click but makes this funny sound which doesn’t really hurt.

so just wonderign if soem of you guys happen to experience that, and possibly have some kind of advice or special workout technique.. im not plannign to go to the snow till late july so still have time to get my knee confident.

Regards

Hey there,

Its still early days so your knee is still healing.

What was the reason you needed the surgery in the first place? What exactly did the surgeon end up doing?

The funny sound may mean that your knee has an instability, or your muscles are too weak!

Have you gone to a physio for rehab? It not, it may be a good idea, as you need to be doing strengthening exercises, which should help with the instability. Strengthening the quads is very necessary post knee surgery, and it’s really important to have 100% strength before you go back to sport.

If the funny sound is associated with pain, then that would be of more concern. The achy pain is normal, especially if you have just started training again. I’d advise that you still ice your knee after training.

Has the swelling fully subsided? Just remember to listen to your knee. Are you doing too much too soon? Perhaps build up slowly. Get your knee used to stabilising and taking big loads gradually. Wrestling, running and weights sounds like a lot. Rest is sometimes best!

Physio Bec.

Hey Bec,