The BOARDWORLD Forums ran from 2009 to 2021 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive

YES 420 Powder Hull

Hi All,

I’ve been riding a Burton Barracuda for a couple of years now and would like something shorter but with great float. I ride in Japan.

I’ve been looking at the YES 420 Powder Hull and it looks awesome. Can anyone recommend if this is a good option. I’m a big unit at about 95KGS and have big boots US12.5

I have also been looking to get a twin board too, any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Adam

Not interested in the 20/20?????

That way you’ll get the twin and the powder hull in one, and then get a Jones Hover, or my latest “want list item”, a Jones Stormchaser!!!!!

I am definitely interested in the 20/20, but thought i might be able to get the 420 and then get something more suited to those days when the snow is not that fresh and a little more tracked/groomed.

I love the Hover, but that Storm chaser is very cool.

Welcome to Boardworld, @awindley! shaka

You have great taste in powder boards. The 420 Powder Hull is epic! The board has a 273mm waist width which will easily accommodate your size 12.5 boots. No issue there whatsoever. I’m fairly certain the 420 PH will also be fine for your weight, but @amine will be able to chime in on this more accurately.

In regards to twin boards, I would suggest you look at the YES. Standard 159 Wide. It’s a great board, high-end materials, poplar + bamboo core, super versatile, CamRock profile, sintered base. Also, the directional volume twin shape is a winner; it has a true twin shape but the nose/tail volumes are offset giving you increased float in powder when you need it. I could ride this board all season.

Another option that I would highly recommend is the Jones Mountain Twin 161 Wide. It’s such a beautiful board, super versatile, CamRock profile, sintered base. This is another board you can just ride all season regardless of terrain or riding style.

Cheers Rider26,