The BOARDWORLD Forums ran from 2009 to 2021 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive

Camber Profiles: Camber vs Rocker vs Flat vs Hybrids

Hi guys,

Thanks for all your help and tips.
After a lot of reading and discussions, I’ll go with a RCR and will pick a Jones Moutain Twin.
I still hesitate on 157 or 160 though (I am 1.82 and 80kg), but Jones Moutain Twin it will be grin

Thanks for all this discussion about cambers was pretty interesting grin
JT

umm around either will be fine i am 1.75m and weigh around 82kgs and i ride a 154 and a 159

Go shorter (157). I’m 197cm/95kg and I ride a 162.

I’m 5’5” 150lbs, I ride a 156. If I were you I’d go for the 160, since you don’t do park much.

Hi guys, a new joiner in the forum here.

Thank you for the very comprehensive post, rider26.

I am a beginner-intermediate goofy snowboarder currently looking into Rocker-Flat-Rocker snowboard (ex: K2 Grenade). What is the benefit of this board in comparison to Rocker-Chamber-Rocker board (ex: Flow Merc)? I mainly ride all-mountain freeride on major powdery/ minor slushy terrain.

Open to any suggestion for board type.

Thanks.

Welcome to the forums chemisiq!

I currently ride a Parkstar which has the same profile (rock-flat-rock) and have also ridden a few YES boards with rocker-cam-rocker.
The K2 profile feels a bit more loose and surf/skate like, but when on edge it still can lock in. In powder it is fun as hell. really easy to initiate turns.
The R-C-R profile feels more like a cambered board, but with a more catch free feel. about the same easiness to initiate, but the R-C-R feels more locked in like a camber board, like you are locked into track.
the R-C-R will give you more “give”(dampening) in really heavy chopped up snow/chunder., The R-F-R will be more fun in the slushy or pow snow

Hey chemisiq, welcome to Boardworld. cool smile