The BOARDWORLD Forums ran from 2009 to 2021 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive

Wristguards

Poll: Do you/would you wear wristguards?
Total Votes: 47
Yes
No
Sometimes

The helmet topic got me wondering the views on wrist guards. Useful or just a reason to transfer the force to a broken arm?

I dont, but I would.
Never say never, ya know.

I know a family that all wear them, mom, dad and the 2 boys all 4 of them wear them about all the time.
When snowboarding, that is - not just walking to and from work or anything.

I wear them and sometimes find them annoying. Sworn by them since when I was a beginner and got a very nasty sprain.
A friend was wearing them once and ended up with a severely broken shoulder but I guess the force might have done
that anyway.

The old viewpoint was that wristguards transfers the force to the forearms. While that was somewhat the case with old type rigid wrist guards (Especially the ones with stiff palms) it doesn’t apply to the new wristguards our in todays market. Even wearing the old style wristguards, ie the Dakine ones, breaking the long bones in your forearm is still way better then breaking the small bones in your wrist.

The new Biomex and Flexmeter wrist guards/gloves are miles better then other brands at protecting from wrist injuries.

If i was heading to the park to try some new features, i’d probably chuck them on. I’d also put them on in the mornings cos im always dazed on my first run when its icy and all.

zhenjie - 06 August 2009 05:00 AM

The old viewpoint was that wristguards transfers the force to the forearms. While that was somewhat the case with old type rigid wrist guards (Especially the ones with stiff palms) it doesn’t apply to the new wristguards our in todays market. Even wearing the old style wristguards, ie the Dakine ones, breaking the long bones in your forearm is still way better then breaking the small bones in your wrist.

Exactly what the doc told me when i did my scaphoid.