The BOARDWORLD Forums ran from 2009 to 2021 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive

Skaters: What do you look for in a skateboard?

Hi all,

I’m Laura, and I’m really new to the skate scene (a late bloomer at 33). I’m really interested to know if you skate, what do you look for when buying a board?

Do you gravitate towards a certain brand, or do you like to try a variety? is it better to pay more, or are you happy with the cheaper boards?
Is there any brand with art work that’s more female oriented? Seems like there’s a lot of sexist stuff out there!

Thanks

Welcome to the world of skateboarding hold on to your seat!

When I’m buying a new board I always look at the size first and then board brands which I am familiar with or had in the past. I have ridden cheap boards which are usually called blanks (no images) to more expensive brands to mid range also. Majority of skateboards are made in Asian countries now like China so the build quality is the same just cheap production and less quality control. A lot of brands get made in the same place so it’s more about picking some thing you like at the end of the day.

There is more female orientated brands out there and I really hope you can support them. Skateboarding is male driven as majority of skateboarders are male, no different to surfing but a little different in snowboarding. Are brands sexist? Some images are but they are always racist, biased what ever you want skateboarding has it. If you do a search of female skateboard pro’s it comes up with some stupid shit about the hottest 20 females in skateboarding, wank! article. It’s freedom of expression and the chance to what ever you want and how you want to do it. No rules.

Brands like Hoopla, Cherry, Diva and Meow skateboards are female skateboarding brands. Even Girl skateboards have a middle ground of design male/female and being a good quality brand.

Welcome to Boardworld, Quikdrawlau! shaka

A few considerations when buying your first deck: